CrocusMan

By TonyG

Yellow

Tulipa sylvestris.  It's range as a wild plant extends from Portugal and Morocco to western China but due to long being a cultivated plant, it has naturalised through much of norther Europe including a few places in the UK.  My plants are raised from seed collected 'in the wild' but are in fact from plants naturalised in the south of France.  It's easy to grow and commercially available.   In the wild it's found in dry grassy places and open woodland, hence the specific epithet sylvestris, living in the woods.

A quieter day, with my Mum staying overnight last night having been on dog care duty while I was out.  I took Jamie to Meiryonedd Special Riding Group at Arthog this morning where he rode and then stayed on to help out.  A few chores done before lunch then while Mum snoozed, I spent a happy time in the greenhouse sorting, tidying and potting things on.  Warm in there in the sunshine but cooler in the wind outside.  The shade netting will go on very soon as the sunshine pushes the greenhouse temperature up.  

Before cooking our tea, I took Mum and Meg to the ball field, Mum sitting in the car watching Meg's antics and enjoying the fresh air and sun.   After eating I took Mum back to Chris's before singing which was great fun as always.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.