Recycled Hieland Hame

I was at Reid Kerr College in Paisley this afternoon, shortly to be the Paisley campus of West College Scotland which is to be the name of the merged Reid Kerr, James Watt & Clydebank Colleges.

I was there at the prompting of George Adam , the MSP for Paisley and the Parliamentary Liaison Officer in the Education Ministerial team who has spoken enthusiastically and admiringly several times in recent months about the tremendous work being done across the campus.

He has been particularly enthused by students on the Renewable Energy Technology Course who have been demonstrating Curriculum for Excellence in action by taking scrap materials from some of the basic plumbing work they were doing and turning it into works of art as an integral part of the course.

He was right for I was overwhelmed with the quality of what I was shown by the Principal, Audrey Cumberford, her staff and by the students themselves some of whom had come in from their holidays to demonstrate and talk about what they had done.

I was once again spoilt for choice for a blip and I will, I am sure get a second opportunity to showcase this work when I am able to reveal the remarkable and symbolic piece that I am going to be given to display in my Parliamentary office . However that blip will have to wait until we can schedule a hand over in the Parliament.

The Forth Bridge, the lighthouse off Troon, a puffer, a tenement, Mons Meg and a plaque commemorating the Clyde shipyards were all memorable and photogenic. But in the end it was this immensely detailed Highland Cottage which especially caught my eye - a recycled Hieland Hame in the middle of Paisley.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.