Wendy's World

By Wendles56

Shower Coming

I feel as if I've been sitting on a bus for much of today and that's not far from the truth.  I was up with the birds to digest my breakfast porridge well ahead of my fitness session.  I share the session with friend Angela but she is on holiday just now so I had a full on rowing/power plate half hour from which I emerged more shaken than stirred into a rain shower.

A quick jog home and a quicker shower and I was back out to the bus stop to visit Brother Bob.  There was some trepidation as the centre of Bradford has been thrown up in the air and will not descend for some time so there have been all kinds of horror stories around congestion, missing bus stops, blocked pedestrian ways etc.  AuntieP and UncleP came by and paused to give me good advice about getting off the bus a couple of stops in advance to avoid getting caught up in the mayhem.  Thank you folks!

It's a while since I've walked through the City centre and I knew I was heading for Nelson Street for my second bus as, unfortunately, the bus station is also out of action due to this expired concrete business.  It has meant that one of the large carparks has now been repurposed for the buses adding further pressure to the system.  Also, the historic Odeon is being refurbished which is another set of road and building works in the mix.

I thought I had my route sorted through the law courts and the underpass.......the underpass has been filled in!  I had to divert around the fences blocking the pedestrian crossings with Nelson Street getting further and further away.  Once there it was chaos.  Two cheery First Bus guys were juggling the arrival of buses with occasionally very rude passengers.  I asked where my bus might come in and was told anywhere along the street so to keep an eye out for it coming around the corner.  He also informed me that he had been on since 6am and had managed only one wee and a cup of coffee!  

The bus arrived, twenty minutes late, and then crawled verrrry slowwwwly out of the city centre around all the carry on.  It was good to arrive at Bob's to find him well on the mend and we passed a couple of hours catching up and reminiscing.  The return journey was just as 'much fun' with the bus I got on terminating half way to the City, the driver being so late that he had to chuck us off and go do a school run. The next bus deposited me across the City from Nelson Street and when I once again manoeuvred around the fencing and blocked roads it was to discover my home bus would not arrive for fifty minutes.  I took the decision to jump on the Thornton Bus and rang Tony who said he would come and collect me from Denholme Gate.  It took forever to get there as the cross city traffic, avoiding the clean air zone (with which I agree!) clogged up the traffic lights and junctions.  Have you had enough yet? I was so relieved to get off at the cemetery and head up the road to meet Tony coming down, home to the loo and a very welcome cuppa.

My blip is taken of our street up on the hillside, from the bus stop in the village.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.