Musing of a Lady

By inkstainedhands

Keukenhof

The Netherlands is famous for the tulips. If you fly into Amsterdam Schiphol Airport in the spring you'll fly over the tulip fields. Until today, I'd only really seen them from the skies. I've never really been interested in going to the yearly flower gardens otherwise known as Keukenhof. When my sister came to visit she wanted to go, but we couldn't get tickets. My mum decided that we needed to go. So we went today. Little Man wasn't really himself so we didn't stay as long we probably would have, but it was gorgeous! I really enjoyed seeing all the tulips. If you're ever in the Netherlands during the spring and want to see some of the Netherlands, do visit, but bare in mind that tickets sell fast as the tulips are only around for about six weeks each year.

After we'd seen the tulips, we went into Lisse (the nearest town) and got pancakes for lunch. Pancakes are another part of Dutch culture. Pannenkoe, the restaurant we went to, was part of the same restaurant chain we went to on my last birthday. Little Man wasn't too interested in eating so we took his food home with us and he had it for dinner.

It's life group evening tonight, but mum and I are taking it turns to stay at home with Little Man if one of our life groups aren't meeting at our home (my parents and I are in different life groups). I'll be getting an early night, I think. I'm really exhausted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.