soozsnapz

By soozsnapz

My lovely dad

Died 35 years ago today. So I only had him for half my life.  He died instantly of a heart attack, so in some ways it’s good, I suppose, that he didn’t go through dementia, or some other painful or horrible disease.  I only have a handful of photos of him - here he’s about 20 I think, so it’s 1935ish.  He’s at the seaside, with some friends, having fun, I think. 
Co-incidentally, I went today for lung health screening.  This is for ex-smokers (sadly I was stupid enough, back in the day). I’m piggy-backing on the fact that my GP centre is based in one of the most deprived areas in England, with one of the poorest health outcomes.  I was allocated there when my local GP closed down. So that practice is chosen for this special opportunity- using a CT scan they will detect stage 1 or stage 2 lung cancer (which has no symptoms so is generally not found) - at this point it is treatable, and the outcomes are very good.  By no means a death sentence. And, of course, it will save time and money for the NHS to nip it early. So, a fantastic opportunity which I am lucky to get. 
My dad smoked all his adult life, though he tried to stop. In the war soldiers were given a pack of 20 every day. It’s a horrible addiction, and very very hard to give up. I tried about 99 times before eventually managing. I’m with Rishi Sunak on this one subject.  Never mind Truss and her stupid ‘freedoms’. Addiction isn’t freedom. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.