talloplanic views

By Arell

Metal cages

Last Phriday I remembered a rather sad phonebox that wasn't quite on my modified commute home, and even more wasn't quite when I went via Mum and Dad's.  But today was early morning coffee-with-bikey-friends in the usual place in town so I had a chance to photograph it on my ride in.

Crikey, it could do with some love!  Somehow the door has been bashed inwards, though I gave it a pull and it still seemed to work OK.  The glazed side panel has disappeared, probably with help from a stout boot or two, and its frame has been bashed in as well.  And, most of the vinyl graphics have either been torn away or, like the banner on the rear panel in the traditional BT italics typeface that announces "Coins and Cards" – such is the magic of technology! – they are holding fast but have faded greatly over the years.  All the same, it's been here, like, forever and is an integral part of the streetscape that we should be sad to lose altogether.

I managed to work a shorter day today and had the chance to spin the wheels of one of our Kia electric cars on a wee outing.  It was pretty good to drive actually: a bit of a tank in size but kind of a luxo-version of a little BMW i3 that I drove a lot on work trips in years gone by.  I was surprised how quickly I got used to it, too, but really, it's the same: a big on/off button, a knobby roundy selectory thing for the drive modes, and pedals for stop and go.  I find electric cars very tractable, and the regenerative braking is almost telepathic in use.

Tea today was at Mum and Dad's and I had a somewhat ponderous cycle home in the cold and dark.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.