Booky Goatherd

By Booky_Goatherd

Friday: Jankunu

I started the day with a lovely call.  When I first started work 36 years ago I had a good friend, Adrian, who worked down the corridor from me.  I was 19 and he was 18.  When we went on our respective first postings - me to South Africa, him to Brussels (he had to do Europe as he was under 21) - we started writing regular letters to each other.  That continued when we went on to our second postings - me to Bangladesh, him to Pakistan.  Our letters became thicker and more elaborate, and also included mix tapes as we were heavily into music.  

And then we lost touch.  Recently I saw he posted something on an office forum site that I follow so I sent him an email.  Today we video called and caught up after 30 years and it was just like we’d last spoken yesterday.   We spoke mainly about music and books but also caught up on family stuff and life events.  We’re going to catch up again soon and have tasked each other with doing a mix tape, like we used to (courtesy of a Spotify playlist).  

Other than that, it was the opening of the National Agriculture and Trade Show, a highlight of the Belmopan calendar.  I went to the opening ceremony which featured a Jankunu dance, a key part of the Garifuna culture.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.