PaulaJ

By PaulaJ

Quiet joy

I spotted a few hours of morning sunshine and I knew where I wanted to go. We set off early to avoid the A66 traffic and, arriving at Bassenthwaite and finding the secret parking spot, we set off on the most lovely walk across fields towards the Lake, a walk we had forgotten all about. 

Suddenly the little church by the lake comes into view - a magical moment.  St Bega’s - the second of two old churches dedicated to St Bega. We had been at the first in St Bees earlier in the week and so it seemed right to find this one, one we have not been to for many years.

What Blip means to me 

Quiet joy - anyone who has seen that most uplifting film Perfect Days will know exactly what I mean. Finding moments in each day when something makes one take time to reflect and wonder. And don’t we need such quiet moments that spark joy in a world in turmoil. In our little world we can record and share those moments, every one different. 

And now I have twelve years worth of such moments. How it got to this stage I don’t know, but I do know that Blip is an integral part of my life. I enjoy reflecting and selecting a moment from each day: I really appreciate the friendships that have been nurtured through day by day encounters; I love the glimpses into the lives of others and the sharing of interests and events.

Our world is a little corner of quiet joy and love - long may it continue. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.