ArcLight+

By ArcLight

Lunch treats

I've only managed one photograph today, despite a great deal of attractive looking food having been produced and consumed. Mr A has been preparing for today's lunch since Friday, and it was a tour de force. A starter of some Moroccan potato cakes, tomato salad and harissa yoghurt, a main course of a chicken drumstick tagine and couscous, and then a dessert of these delicious orange slices, sprinkled with cinnamon and a little extra sugar (the sugar probably wasn't really needed). I devoted myself after breakfast to peeling the seven oranges necessary. If I'd realised I was going to be doing that, I wouldn't have cut my nails quite as ruthlessly as I did earlier this week.... I also helped out with a few other things, such as frying off the potato cakes to get them brown and crispy, and generally serving stuff out (and clearing up afterwards). Our guests were my Florence colleague MV and his partner PJ, plus their nephew J, who is doing a PhD at Heriot Watt. It was a very pleasant and relaxed afternoon.

To be honest, little else has been done. I did a peloton workout first thing, and then had a fairly long call with L (the first for more than a month....not quite sure why....). And since our guests left, there has been sloth in the house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.