Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Thoughts on a Monday

Four of us from the ladies’ house group spent a couple of hours this morning learning how to make simple hand-made greetings cards with our friend Caroline who, for many years, has been creating and selling them for charity. We want to build up a stock to use for keeping in touch with parishioners, as part of our pastoral care team which we’re starting up. We felt a hand made card would be a thoughtful gesture to write a personal note in. The card pictured is my first effort.

After lunch I contacted a couple of local double glazing companies for quotes to replace the wooden windows at the bungalow with PVC ones. One is coming to do a quote on Wednesday morning, and the other is yet to get back to me. I also spent some time going through more things in what was once Mum and Dad’s room. It hurts so much to dispose of personal effects like hearing aids and spectacles. I couldn’t manage too long today, because it was upsetting me. I rediscovered our grandfather’s Holy Bible, which I was told he always had in his jacket when he went “over the top” in the First World War. It’s incredibly fragile, so I didn’t dare handle it very much. I’ll probably blip about it another time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.