Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

COMMUNITY CENTRE

Its been a wet day but I needed to go to the village so I got the bus down to the Convenience Store where I collected a parcel.

The Community Centre is across the road from the Convenience Store.. The Mono Monday theme is " High Contrast ".  I wasn't sure how to achieve this effect so my shot is probably just Mono. Thanks to JohnEdward for hosting

The Community Centre was built in 1875 as offices for The Medical Officer.  Later on it became a recreation centre.  In 1910 it became a Colliery Institute for miners and offered various facilities such as a library and games room. During the 1921 and 1926 miners strikes it was a soup kitchen. When the colliery closed in 1953 it became a Community Centre.  Its a well used building with various groups using it as a meeting place.

After taking my blip shot I walked along to Herons and Tesco for food shopping - and I collected two more parcels.  Walked home.  It was very windy and rainy - my brolly was no use as it kept blowing inside out so I just carried on without it. I was rather soggy when I reached home. 

Steps today - 6,389

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.