Anni Mamundi

By An1ma

Sunshine…

… At last!
(Still windy enough to ensure I arrived at work looking like a scarecrow. But I’ll take that).

I heard today that one of the local stores that’s been established in town for decades is closing. This is owing to a modern ‘equivalent’ (a name on lots of High Streets) moving in. There isn’t enough business for both. It saddens me… Things seem to be changing so quickly.
I was telling Himself the news, and he bemoaned the fact that he will no longer be able to buy half a dozen screws of the size he might want. He’ll have to buy a bag of 30 (or whatever) and ‘there won’t be any wood to buy’.. I know he’s right. (And I know the majority of people probably won’t care).
He does love a hardware store. (I do too, but in my case for more culinary reasons).
We both come from homes where our fathers recycled ‘wood’, and created shelves/wardrobes/desks/stools…

Oh well. Change happens.

The tulips still bloom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.