Doctor, doctor

I've got a hurty toe...
Well my dear (please assume patronising male voice) that's because you're clearly female and wear high heels...

Have still not calmed down after waiting an hour to see the *beep* *beep* *beep* doctor about my big toe that bends, but not happily, and hurts not enough to make life impossible just awkward.

I should have known it wouldn't end well when before the x-ray he asked what I did "professionally". I hate that question, always have done, mainly because the term "housewife" is so....icky & " hausfrau" even more so. So I told him "nothing" - did they really expect me to play nice when they made me wait for an hour?

The x-ray shows that the gap in the joint of the big toe is rather compromised and needs to be made more flexible so Dr. Widerspruch* has said that every evening Mr K (or in his absence, the teen**) should grasp my ankle and then pull the big toe to help make the joint more bendy - sure, that actually hurts, like I'm going to let either of them near my very ticklish feet...

But that is only part of the cunning plan. Part two involves insoles, metal and inflexible insoles to stop my foot from flexing...

Huh?

So all day long I'm supposed to wear metal insoles (which will mean a mammoth shopping trip, because putting insoles into any of my shoes will make them too snug to wear) to prevent my toes from flexing and in the evening the menfolk take it in turns to make the toe joint flexible...

If anyone can see the logic there please let me know.
Personally I'm self prescribing a large glass of wine & maybe even trashy (English***) TV.


* der Widerspruch = the contradiction.
** he's been informed of his new role, he wasn't impressed.
*** IMHO all German TV is trash and pretty much unwatchable, trashy UK TV is a different matter though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.