Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

The big tree

A dull start to the day so I spent the morning indoors, catching up with various things. I've just realised that it's the 1st of May and a good excuse to play one of my favourites songs - the Bee Gees and 'First of May' - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yGxDx8ftX1I

The afternoon looked to be dry, so I decided to go to Dunollie and put out some of the labels. Quite a lot of rhododendrons and azaleas in flower, but it's a shame that they don't have the funding to employ a full-time gardener. They have someone in for 10 hours a week, but it's just not enough.

I got most of the labels out, mostly wired on to the weldmesh guards as most of the shrubs are still quite small. They'll be transferred on to the shrubs when they're larger.

Had a nice chat with an American lady - she was admiring the redwood, seen in my Blip today, towering above the rhododendrons. 

Quote of the Day: '"Until you dig a hole, you plant a tree, you water it and make it survive, you haven't done a thing. You are just talking." - Wangari Maathai.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.