Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Flowers and fronds

A good day today, so I spent some time this morning raking leaves and hoeing the bed down by the roadside - not easy, as it's very stony. I must try to plant it up with evergreen perennials as I've been meaning to for several years!

When Mrs M came back we decided to sit out in the sun with a cuppa, but just at that moment the neighbour started up his chainsaw 30ft away so we had to move to the far end of the house, where it was slightly quieter but a lot windier. A warm wind though, so still shirt-sleeve weather!

After lunch I went to see a fellow fern fancier who has recently moved to Oban to run a guest house. His garden gets sunshine all day and we roasted! Fortunately his wife brought out some cold beer!

The top of his garden - my Blip today - is too hot for ferns, so he's planting perennials there and has made some beds down beside the path below the garden and is putting his ferns there - see extra. He gave me a fern to bring home!

Quote of the Day: "I must have flowers, always and always.” – Claude Monet. (What about ferns, Claude?)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.