Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Change of Plan

The plan was to drive over to the flat today to spend the weekend making a start on packing up ready for the move. I’ve changed my mind. Firstly, the weather put me off - it’s been raining more or less all day, and the M25 is really stressful when there’s a lot of spray and people are driving too fast for the conditions. Then I considered the fact that this is a Bank Holiday weekend. Having made the mistake of driving between Essex and Buckinghamshire before on a May Bank Holiday, I just can’t take the risk of wasting valuable time sitting in a traffic jam. There’s also still a lot to do at the bungalow, and if I can clear more stuff out over the next few days I’ll feel better about that, as it’s a total mess at the moment. I haven’t heard any more yet following my buyer’s survey of the flat, which was done on Wednesday. Hopefully no news is good news…

I’ve now found a local company I’m happy with to do the replacement windows. They are a proper family business, the son and grandsons of Pam from church, who lived on the corner of our road and who used to sit behind Mum and me on Sundays. Sadly Pam died earlier this year, and I went to her very well attended funeral recently. Her family are lovely, and by coincidence her daughter-in-law is a member of my book club. It’s quite a small world in this village, which I love after decades in and around London. I’m having the proper measuring up done for the bespoke windows on Tuesday afternoon by Pam’s grandson Ben.

A soggy groceries shop in Sainsbury’s earlier, where I sneaked a blip of these unusual chrysanthemums and got my feet soaked stepping in a big puddle by accident. Thank you to BikerBear for hosting Flower Friday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.