Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Time for the Ladies

I decided to head out for a walk in one of our state parks this morning.  I always enjoy this trail because it has acres of woods on one side and marshy water on the other, making wonderful bird and insect habitat.  And in the spring, it is alive with the sounds of recently arrived birds and dozens of frogs.  I found myself just stopping at various points so that I could listen to all the wonderful sounds.  One of my favorite spring songs is that of the Baltimore Oriole, a song that is a richly toned whistle.  I knew there was a male somewhere in the trees but couldn't see him (hard to imagine with a bird that's bright orange and black).  Eventually, I spotted this female who was picking insects off the damp wood in the water and possibly also gathering nesting materials.  Although I was shooting through branches and in less than ideal light conditions, I did manage to get a few decent shots, this being one.  A lovely morning.

Back at home, I settled on the deck to download pictures only to have Jax alert me to yet another bear sighting.  As with the last several, the minute the bear heard Jax barking, it took off back into the woods.  Jax spent the next 10 minutes all bristled up, tail straight up, patrolling the fence line.  Good dog!

Hubs said that the nest box outside his office window in front of the house had been busy with bluebirds all morning.  I rushed out and found...tree swallows!  I already have bluebirds nesting on the property so thought it unlikely that another pair would come around, but am delighted that the swallows were so interested.  In all my years here, I have only had swallows nest in my boxes one time.  We'll see what happens.  There appeared to be 3 or 4 males all checking it out.

I reluctantly returned the Nikon 400 f/4.5 lens this afternoon.  It's a lovely lens and if I didn't have my beloved 300 f/4, I'd buy this lens in an instant.  But, it is so close in focal length to my existing 300 that I just can't justify it.  And I do really love my 300.  

Hubs is away this afternoon, helping out a friend who has to get from the hospital to home and doesn't have a ride.  The hospital, unfortunately, is about 1.5 hours away and hospitals always seem to run on their own time so the friend still hasn't been released.  It will likely be a late night for hubs.

Plain dark today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.