Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

A FLY

As I haven't been shopping since Friday - and I won't be able to go tomorrow ( vet appointment for Lily ) I needed to stock up with some essentials so I headed to the village this afternoon. I walked along the back lane through the allotments - it wasn't too muddy.

When I was at the blipmeet on Sunday some of the other blippers had the Merlin app on their phones to identify birdsong so I downloaded it this morning and used it as I walked along the back lane. These are the birds I heard.... greenfinch, wren, coal tit, great tit, blue tit, tree sparrow, wood pigeon, blackbird, chiffchaff, thrush, dunnock ... and robin.   The only birds I actually saw were blackbirds and wood pigeons. 

No parcels to collect today (but there are some in the pipeline )  so I just did food shopping in Herons and Tesco. Then back home with a very full shopping trolley.

I had a short rest .. and a cup of coffee  - before doing a bit of sorting in the garden.  After cutting up the smaller branches of the lilac tree to put in the garden bin yesterday I had piled up the bigger branches in a corner.  I was going to leave them to be dealt with by whoever I get to chop up the main tree.  However I spotted a hole in the hedge of the allotment just outside my back gate and decided to use the branches to fill it up.( see Extra )  Apart from me getting rid of the branches it will make the allotment a bit more secure.  My next door neighbour Ed used to be the allotment holder but he's moved away and its not being used at the moment. I've also added an Extra showing the fallen tree.  You can see the flowers that have appeared since it fell over.

The weather today was dry and quite warm.  It was dull until late afternoon and then we had lovely sunshine. 

I took my blip shot on my way back from the village.  I took lots of photos of tiny flowers and was going to blip one of those but I decided to blip this insect as I was really pleased with my shot - especially as I took it with my phone camera.  I don't usually have any luck photographing insects.  Thanks to Incredibish for hosting Tiny Tuesday.

Steps today -6,710

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.