The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

The Front Yard (Wednesday 8th May 2024)

I noticed this dead dock leaf in the Front Yard and thought it would be suitable for Derelict Sunday, with thanks to Marlieske

I was feeling somewhat hemmed in as next door men were working with a piledriver to remove a concrete pathway, making a fearful noise, and their van had blocked in Buzz. Also, on the other side of my cottage a massive trampoline has appeared in the garden that my study overlooks, presumably for the use of my new neighbour's daughter.

L.
Thursday 9.5.2024 (1254 hr)

Blip #4082 (#3832 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #004
Blips/Extras In 2024 #066/266 + #021/100 Extras
Day #5157 (1268 gaps from 26.3.2010)
Lozarithm's Lozarhythm Of The Day #3221 (#3061 + 160 in archived blips)

Taken with Pentax KS-1 (Blue) and Pentax smc P-DA* 55mm F1.4 SDM prime lens

Flora series
Leaves series
Front Yard series
Woodland Garden

Woodland Garden (May 2024) (Work in progress)
Lozarhythm Of The Day:
PJ Harvey - Rid Of Me (recorded December 1992, Pachyderm Studios, Canon Fall MN)
R.I.P. Steve Albini (22 July 1962, Pasadena CA - 7 May 2024, Chicago IL)
Steve Albini regarded himself as an audio engineer who recorded acts, rather than a producer, and worked in that capacity on PJ Harvey's Rid Of Me album. As an engineer he had an enormous discography, and was also a bass player in several bands.
I remember starting to write in a flat I was living in, a horrible, horrible little flat that I was sharing in Tottenham. Tottenham is quite a rough area in London. We were living in a very damp flat with gas heaters, and I had a poky little room at the front of the house. In order to access any of the rest of the house you had to walk through my room. We were on the lower floor, so the people up above us would make noise. I remember starting to write the song “Rid of Me,” sitting on my bed in my damp front room by the gas heater. When I’m writing towards a record, there’s often one song that emerges as the lynchpin. At that time, I very much wanted to write songs that shocked. When I was at art college, all I wanted to do was shock with my artwork. When I wrote “Rid of Me,” I shocked myself. I thought, ‘Well, if I’m shocked, other people might be shocked.” The sound of the words was powerful, and the rhythm felt clean and simple to roll off the tongue. I knew that this was the type of song I was trying to write. - PJ Harvey

One year ago:
Pewsham (Fiat 500 EV)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.