The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Pewsham (Monday 8th May 2023)

For the last three weeks I have been in negotiations with the local Fiat garage to trade up to an electric vehicle, specifically the gold coloured 2022 model in this blip, which I had nicknamed Shirley (after Shirley Eaton, sprayed with gold paint in Goldfinger), and which had under 600 miles on the clock.

I worked out that it would be three times cheaper using its electric battery compared to Archie's petrol tank, even before allowing for the solar energy I have access to using my solar panels and solar battery. With a range approaching 200 miles a home EV charger would cover 99% of all my car trips. I also found that Archie's trade-in value was quite a bit more than I had expected after ten years.

Reading the manual online, though, I found some snags including the fact that as a city car all Fiat 500's have been designed not to accept the fitting of a tow bar, whether petrol, hybrid or electric, meaning I would not be able to use my indispensable two-wheel trailer. Sadly, I had to rule out the Fiat 500 before I had made a firm offer, but am now investigating alternative electric vehicles. The Electric Mini is a contender as it can support a tow bar, but it only has a range of around 110 miles.

In the afternoon I went over to C's. As it was pouring with rain by then Loki was hunkered down on a chair in the conservatory (in Extra). I drove home through flooded roads.

L.
Tuesday 9.5.2023 (1338 hr)

Blip #3873 (#3623 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #000
Blips/Extras In 2023 #081/266 + #049/100 Extras
Day #4790 (1176 gaps from 26.3.2010)
Lozarithm's Lozarhythm Of The Day #3013 (#2853 + 160 in archived blips)

Pewsham series

Taken with Panasonic/Leica DMC-LX100 M4/3 compact
Lozarithm's Lozarhythm Of The Day:
John Barry - Golden Girl (1964)

One year ago:
The Woodland Garden

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.