CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Red Orchid Cactus, or Disocactus ackermannii

When watering the many plants in pots in the cabin, I was shocked to see that the epiphyllum had produced four flowers. This is the only one still in good condition, so I took it out onto the patio and placed the pot high up on the table, in dappled shade. These long leaves produce buds from little holes on the leaves often close to the tip. There may be another bud forming now.

I've had this plant for at least a decade if not much longer, as I have had off-shoots which I've passed on. I always love to see the flowers which really are at their best when the plant has not been pampered or over watered.

In case you are wondering it measures about six inches in diameter. I formerly regarded this as an epiphyllum, but I gather it is now given the names above. I think I'll always call it an epiphyllum, for old times sake.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.