Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Ascension Day

The Thursday communion service began outside the church this morning. The Rector’s reasoning was that we were celebrating Christ’s Ascension to Heaven, and He wouldn’t be able to rise up into the clouds from inside the building because the ceiling would be in the way. Luckily it was a lovely sunny and warm day. Somehow it wouldn’t have been quite as effective in the pouring rain. I thought St Luke’s and the churchyard were looking particularly beautiful in the spring sunshine, so I am sharing a shot of the scene as my blip.

My friend Mary called for me after lunch, and we went over to Hazel’s care home to celebrate her birthday with her. Sadly we missed the cake, which had been brought out at lunchtime, but that’s probably just as well when I’m trying to shed a bit of weight. We counted 14 birthday cards, which I think is pretty good for a lady of 95 - I don’t think I get that many any more, and I’m 30 years younger!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.