Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Flower Friday - Viburnum Opulus

The cleaners were in the house this morning, so I disappeared off to The Exchange for a latte and toasted teacake - my little occasional treat. I’ve been very careful for the rest of the day, so it won’t hurt. Slowly but surely I’ve lost nearly half a stone over the past few weeks by giving up extras in-between meals and just having yoghurt for dessert. I feel better for it.

After lunch I picked up my spare watch from the local jewellers. It was a cheapie which cost £6 from the Original Factory Shop, and the plastic strap was cracking. The new leather strap that’s been fitted cost three times that! But the watch keeps good time and has a clear face, so it was worth replacing.

The Viburnum in the garden (also called Guelder Rose) is looking lovelier every day, and makes a pretty photograph with the late afternoon sun filtering through the leaves in the background. When I zoomed in, I discovered a very well-camouflaged white spider sitting on the petals! I’m thinking of planting some variety of Viburnum, maybe Snowball, to soften down the 6 foot garden wall to one end of the (very wide) frontage of the bungalow. At the moment there is a straggly and half-dead hedge right in front of it, which makes no sense at all and looks terrible. I’ll get the gardener to take that out, seed the area with grass and put in three shrubs which will be much easier to maintain.

Many thanks to BikerBear for hosting Flower Friday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.