An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

My name is Damnonii...

and I'm addicted to yarn!

Following on from my clear out of my dressing table yesterday, today I turned my attention to my yarn stash.  Fortunately (or unfortunately depending on how you look at it :-) we have a large walk-in linen cupboard so it all gets shoved in there out of the way.  But it's starting to encroach on the space that's actually reserved for linen, so I decided it was time to go through it and have a cull.

D brought it all through to our bedroom so I could sort it at my leisure (then he escaped to play golf at Bishopbriggs with Kenny, Keith and Steven.  Kenny has recently moved from Cawdor Golf Club to Bishopbriggs so it was D's first round there with the Thursday golf gang) I knew I had a fair amount but I was shocked by how much!  

After going through it all and sorting it by type and weight of yarn and colour, and getting it re-packed into a large holdall bag and various storage boxes, I only had a small bag of bits and bobs to get rid off!  Alan's support worker Penny took it to give to her friend's little girl who is learning to knit.  And since I will be finished the shawl soon, I need to decide on my next project but I must not, UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES buy more yarn!  

Since my last three or four crochet projects have been made using chunky or Aran weight yarn, I think I might go back to cotton yarn.  I fancy doing another love heart blanket using the same pattern as for the Cuddle Banket but this time with cream coloured hearts and assorted brightly coloured surroundings.  Would look good in the Gin Palace and handy for chilly summer evenings :-) Decisions, decisions!

In other news, it's been like Sauchiehall Street here today!  

C, who valets Alan's car was here first thing but when he finished his van wouldn't start, so he had to hang around waiting for the AA.  An engineer from the pool company was here to do some pool maintenance so his van was also in the driveway.  He left and my lovely cleaning lady L arrived.  R came to take Lola for her walk and in the midst of it all, the chef from Gleneagles arrived to pick up his butcher's knife that was delivered here in error yesterday!  I was very glad that by mid afternoon, everyone had gone, including Penny and Alan, and Lola and I had the house to ourselves! 

Dinner on my own too as after the golf D, Ele, Kenny, Keith, Andrew and Jen were all off to see The Feeling in Glasgow.  

Meanwhile I've had a lovely evening in peace and quiet, researching sofas for the garden room.  

I can't decide whether we should go for a neutral colour and use the walls and soft furnishings to bring in the colour, or start with strongly coloured sofas (we're getting rid of the six seater corner sofa and chair and replacing them with a three seater, two seater and a chair.  Well that's the plan at the moment)  I really have a notion for a sofa in a deep teal colour, or an ocean blue or a rich green, but I'm worried I'll get fed up of it after a couple of years.  Thoughts welcome :-))

And phew!  Finally got my journal up to date!  Must try harder to keep on top of blipping! 

The Wedding
Gin Palace is open for business :-)
Windows to the past...
Now you see it!
The Shawl

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.