An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Back to the shawl...

When I came downstairs this morning a long rectangular package had been delivered that had our full address on it, but a different name.  Very curious.

I carefully opened the box to see if there was an advice note inside to give me a clue as to who the intended recipient was, but there was nothing but a cardboard cylinder with a very fancy description of a cutting implement.  I googled the implement and discovered it was a very professional and very expensive butcher's knife!  Even more curious.

Now in full Sherlock Homes mode, I re-sealed the outer box and entered the name on the address label in Google.  Bingo!  A Facebook's profile popped up that belongs to a Chef at Gleneagles.  That made sense.

I sent him a DM to check if it was his.  He replied later to say it was and sent me a copy of the advice note, which he had received digitally, as proof.  He's going to collect it tomorrow morning.  It's not the first time an item for a member of staff at Gleneagles has been delivered here.  I think the address of the staff quarters is similar to ours.

Feeing in an industrious mood, I spent the afternoon clearing out my dressing table drawers.  I found a lovely bottle of body lotion that I was given at Christmas by a friend who shall remain nameless.  I put it on my bedside table thinking I would try it on my arms at bedtime (I have sensitive skin so have to do a patch test before lathering anything fragrant over myself :-). Unfortunately it was very strongly scented (of over ripe fruit!) and made my arms itch, so it's in the bin!

The rest of the day / evening was spent crocheting the shawl I was in the middle of making when I started the Cuddle Blanket.  It's been quite easy to get back into the pattern.  I'd forgotten how much I enjoyed it and the yarn.  Should hopefully have it completed in the next 10 days, depending on how much time I get to spend on it.

The most exciting thing about today though is the decision to redecorate the garden room, including new sofas and chair.  

The extension was completed late 2016 / early 2017 just when Alan was really ill and recovering from emergency surgery to remove his colon due to ulcerative colitis. The last thing we were thinking about was decor, so we played safe and painted the walls pale grey and bought a grey sofa and matching chair.  I am not only heartily scunnered looking at it, I've been sitting on the sofa this week after an unfortunate accident with a cup of coffee and my chair last week, meant I had no comfy seat for a week, and found out it is the lumpiest, most uncomfortable sofa ever!  How family and friends and D haven't complained about it I will never know!  But it's going and I am already having fun thinking of colour schemes and decor.  I am in the mood for something bold!  

Watch this space!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.