The second half of life..

By twigs

Aurora

An early start (for me!) which was lovely.  Spend breakfast watching pukekos and a pheasant scavenging for whatever they scavenge for for their breakfast.  Off then to the judging course I signed up for (though with no intention of becoming a judge!) - great bunch of people, great presenters and an altogether great day that flew past.  One of the photographers also attending the course is an avid aurora hunter (I subsequently found out) and he was getting very excited about an 'event' that was kicking off the biggest aurora event' he'd ever seen.   My interest was more than piqued at the realisation that I was in the right place at the right time.  Longer story short......I drove the van up a narrow, windy, hilly road with a couple of others from the group in their car chasing the aurora too.  So did half of Christchurch!!  It was c-r-a-z-y! Before reaching the intended location I spied a space we could both squeeze into and there began over an hour of fun, lots of oohing and ahhhing, lots of chatter and excitement and all-round fun time.  I've only had a quick look and edit so I can post my blip, but there are a couple of images I think I rather like. Whether they're any good or not doesn't actually matter all that much - they're good enough to remind me of a crazy, fun night out and THE most spectacular aurora the world has seen in years.   And I saw it too :D  Still buzzing with excitement now, hours later. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.