Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Fox cub

I was up early this morning to meet up with V, the wildlife photographer who was taking me to photograph foxes. There were two of us from our camera club and he drove us into eastern London to a cemetery where the foxes are known to live. There was no guarantee that we would see any foxes, these are wild creatures who are known to be habituated in the area, but one can never presume anything with wildlife.

It was a 90 minute journey but we got there in good time and saw foxes running around as soon as we entered the cemetery. It is a beautiful cemetery with well maintained gardens and had a beautiful rose garden. Please note that at all times we were very respectful of the graves and did not walk over them, rather spending time in the garden areas waiting for the foxes to come there.

We were delighted to find a few female vixens and one brought her two cubs to see us. This image is of a fox cub that was so adorable I wanted to bundle him up and take him home! (Xena would have had plenty to say about that!!)

It was a very productive morning with my camera card filled with so many images of the foxes. I got home at about 2.30pm and was hungry and thirsty as we had not had anything to eat or drink since leaving home very early this morning.

Last night the aurora borealis was at it's peak! The astral storms go in 12 year cycles and apparently 2024 is the peak of a 12 year period, so all week I have been seeing images of the aurora in Norfolk - Norfolk is generally dry so is one of the best places to see the aurora as the night skies are clear without cloud cover. Last night the aurora was seen in our village at home - I woke up to images of the aurora from Meriel in Sunderland, Tommy in Cambridge and my neighbours. It is another good night for the aurora tonight but I am too tired to stay up to see it - besides I am not that fussed about seeing it, odd as that may sound (I would rather wake up early to photograph foxes!!) Unless you have a perfect foreground it never makes a great photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.