keepingtrack

By keepingtrack

Reflecting

Another sunny day in Shropshire.
I drove up to Whitchurch , my home town, for a little wander and to reassure myself it’s still there.
It is still there, and apart from the lovely countryside around it, it hasn’t really improved. Still empty shops on the high street, civic centre closed, swimming pool being pulled down (but will be rebuilt I told), the pub/hotel I used to work in now closed, new houses popping up all over the place.
I did manage a brief chat with an old school pal who was working in one of the shops. Also went to see an elderly neighbour who I was a bit worried about as I hadn’t had the usual Xmas card from her. She told me she had been in hospital for a while, so now back home, bed downstairs, house feeling a bit like a sauna, but she was busy cooking lunch when I popped in. Lovely to see her - and still have a connection with the town now that my parents have gone.
The picture is Brown Moss, a mere just outside town. It was full to the brim and looking prettier than I’ve seen it in years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.