Bom

By Bom

Poplar Hawk Moths

This morning one of the neighbours who moved in last Summer, invited myself and my neighbour to see their moth trap and the moths being released. It was so interesting to see, and amazing that there were so many different types. I took the photos and shared them once edited - I've added a collage as an Extra. The biggest moth was actually on the outside of the trap and was this poplar hawk moth. The collage moths, left to right according to Google Lens are R1 - puss, lychnis, brown silver-line; R2 - swallow prominent, poplar hawk, spectacle; R3 - nut-tree tussock, brimstone and grey pine carpet (please let me know if you think it's wrong on the id). I've also added the full photo of the puss moth as it was so pretty. Evidently there are c2,500 species of moths in the UK. It was a lovely and interesting hour and they intend to repeat it once a month. This afternoon I sat in the garden reading the paper, then tidied up out there and in the kitchen so John Lewis have a clear route to take away my old washing machine tomorrow and bring in the new one. I forgot to mention yesterday that my replacement driving licence arrived in the post, only three days after ordering it online - excellent work by the DVLA! The six blue tit hatchlings have grown in size so much, I think they'll be glad of some cooler days. They've got to the stage where the feathers are starting to grow, so they've got enormous 'eyebrows' 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.