FionaRobinson

By FionaRobinson

The first (and the last) celebration

Early last year I was chatting with my cousin S. We both thought that our large and geographically dispersed family only seemed to get together at funerals. So we were looking for a peg to hang a more positive gathering on. She turned 50 last November and had already arranged a party for the other side of her family last summer. It’s my 50th birthday in August, so this was in between. Plus a long weekend for school in Germany meant that another cousin and his family could fly in. 

34 of us managed to get together, and it was lovely to catch up with people that I hadn’t seen in years. From the way the kids had grown rather more years than I had thought!

Obviously twinged with sadness that J isn’t well enough to come.

I really wasn’t expecting cards and presents (especially as it’s over 3 months until my birthday!). I was too busy chatting so hadn’t taken any photos 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.