pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Holker/Boarding

Feeling out of sorts and heavy of heart, I took up an invitation to join the family on a trip to Holker Hall (pictured) for their Summer Fayre.

We were up and out early for a weekend, but with my sister having a younger family than mine, they are all early risers. This was a good thing as it happened as we were there before the crowds on what turned out to be a very nice, hot day! 

I was doubly pleased as one of the stalls being run for a hospice was selling two large panoramic photos of hills and lakes, which I had been looking to find at a reasonable price. I actually found what I was looking for! Suck it, Bono.

It was a lovely atmosphere and it was nice to wander aimlessly, seeking counsel from the family and watching ALL of the wee ones play so beautifully together.

We had a time-out for lunch and gathered in and around Big Blue with the wee ones commandeering the sofa in the boot.

Following a brief return to explore the gardens, we soon went our separate ways, with me and my lot heading off to Coniston for a few hours on the lake, paddle boarding (extra) and then later on demolishing some well-earned shore barbecued burgers.

We returned home very hot, sweaty and sticky, but it was totally worth it.

Great day, which finished with me feeling a helluva lot better than when I started!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.