There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

SOME PIG

Never hurry and never worry! - E.B. White

My husband and I had talked about going to the Dry Hollow property for some exercise and fresh air, but we ended up at the closed road in the gameland by the shooting range instead. It was a very pleasant day, and we were out riding all around in the car first. I wondered out loud if the pig would be in his pond on the road to Dry Hollow.

So what did we do? We went on that road, and drove past the pig's pasture. Well, it doesn't just belong to the pig. There are several horses who live there, too. It's a big space. Big enough for quite a few.

My husband pulled the car over, and I looked at the big pond. No pig! But then we went a tiny bit further, and discovered that there was the pig, in the smaller, front pond, hanging out, enjoying the day.

Now, all I wanted out of life was just a few minutes with the pig. So he stopped the car, I hopped out, and he drove up the road a bit and turned around. I had two minutes with the pig, and I took all kinds of pictures! The pig was clearly puddling, which is a thing that butterflies do. So I joked that we would name it Butterfly!

I chose this photo because it shows the pig pretty well, plus its gorgeous reflection. It also shows the smaller front pond, as well as the larger one in back. You get a sense of spaciousness. 

Now, HERE is a place where a fine porcine individual can roam to its heart's content. Or not. A place where a pig can stay; can lie in the sun; can look at the sky; can be truly, heart-felt happy and content.

Let me describe for you my experience with this pig. I approached the pig quietly, walking slowly. The pig eyed me up. I stopped; took pictures. Took a few steps more; another angle. The pig was peaceful. I observed that the pig emitted some sort of Zen vibe. Just being around it raised my peace quotient by at least 300 percent!

And then I saw a car coming. It was my husband. Reluctantly, I left my friend behind. Put the lens cover on my camera, turned it off, put it in its bag, climbed in the car, took off to go back to my regular life. But I took away a little gift - I took some of its peacefulness with me! And now . . . I pass it along to YOU, dear reader!  

With a great big thank you to Butterfly the pig!

My soundtrack song is Sarah McLachlan, with Ordinary Miracle, from the film Charlotte's Web. The first two verses appear below.

It's not that unusual
When everything is beautiful
It's just another ordinary miracle today

The sky knows when it's time to snow
Don't need to teach a seed to grow
It's just another ordinary miracle today

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.