There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Love Is a Rose

We had errands in town, and I took my camera along, even to the bank. I was glad I had it, though, when I walked past a rose bush and discovered on it one perfect rose that was blooming its heart out, covered in raindrops. For apparently, we are in a rainy season; it rains almost every day here. Our spring this year is very, very green.

This is the first rose of summer, and that is well worth celebrating. But let's look back, first. I posted two pictures of pink roses last fall, and so let's revisit them. First was the rose in Pine Grove Mills, where I was buzzed by the last hummingbird, who carried a message from my father. (And he's right; the roses ARE blooming again, in spite of it all!) Second was the last rose, blooming in the grocery store parking lot, which I plucked, and saved, and brought inside before the frost could take it.

Life is a really strange combination, isn't it? Of holding on, and letting go. I am trying to learn how to winnow through the chaff, and let the wind take the things that don't matter. And to identify The Good Stuff, so that I hold onto that with all my might; I hold that stuff in my heart forever. 

Like faith. 
And hope. 
And love.

And roses.

Love is a rose but you better not pick it
Only grows when it's on the vine
Handful of thorns and you'll know you've missed it
Lose your love when you say the word mine
I want to see what's never been seen
I want to live that age-old dream
Come on boy let's go together
Let's take the best right now

Our soundtrack song is Love Is a Rose, a Neil Young tune performed by the amazing and incomparable Linda Ronstadt.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.