curns' corner

By curns

60 years

Lunch was lovely. I went for the crushed avocado and tomato bruschetta, followed by roast sirloin of beef, with roast potatoes, honey-glazed carrots, and Yorkshire pudding (which was a very sizeable portion). Dessert was stewed apple and summer berry crumble with vanilla custard. All rounded off with cake and coffee. The service was excellent: discreet and unintrusive but always there if something was needed.

I was unsure if I would give my speech, but I decided to when I saw Dad and Ron in conference, which was obviously about saying something. I used my notes from Monday night, although I managed to use them as guidance and not as a script. I am impressed by people who can tell how their public appearances are received because - although people were laughing in what seemed the right places, you never know. PY said it was good, and Kathy sent me a video of it, although I am not sure I will ever watch it.

Sixty years is very impressive, and there was a lot of love for Mum and Dad in the room. It was a little sad at one point when Mum - and later, in his speech, Dad - mentioned those who couldn't be there because they are no longer with us. I am pleased that something like this happened. Jez took some group photographs afterwards, which will be an excellent memory of the afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.