curns' corner

By curns

Jez messaged just before 9am to confirm if anybody was heading to the restaurant for breakfast. We were only a few minutes behind him and, unplanned, met Mum & Dad by reception. We secured a table next to the one where Jez was sat.

It was a buffet breakfast. I opted out of fruit juice, fearing too much acid in my stomach, but that didn't stop me with bacon, sausage, fried egg, black pudding, mushrooms, tomatoes and baked beans. I don't often like beans at breakfast, but they appealed to me this morning for some reason.

We passed two of these enormous chairs on the way back to the room. I don't know why they caught my eye, but they were pretty impressive, although, with one on either side of an entrance, I am not sure who would be sitting on them.

The taxi was prompt, and it was less than £10 to the station. We'd allocated plenty of time and, therefore, needed to wait on the platform for about 20 minutes until the train arrived. It had come from Aberystwyth and seemed to have had a ten-minute wait at Shrewsbury scheduled, so boarding was easy. We managed to get a pair of seats, but that would have been harder just before the train pulled out as it got busier.

Unlike Tuesday, this journey was on time. The interchange at Birmingham New Street was easy because the train was already at the platform. I'd specifically booked a train that started its voyage south from Birmingham - rather than one passing through - because it means it's prepared at New Street and isn't already full. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.