WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Spotted

But he waited for me to take his photo. I was far away, so it's not terribly sharp. In the extra is another distant goldfinch. I'm only posting it because I managed to catch it just as it took off. It's been a wet day, so I went out in a brief dry interval but got wet feet anyway. Of course when I got back, the sun came out.

As well as not having the big lens, I forgot to take my phone with me, which was a shame as I could hear loads of different birds which Merlin could have identified for me. There were black redstarts as well, and I think I saw a hoopoe, but not sure as it was flying away from me some distance away.

Apart from that I started off a sourdough loaf to bake tomorrow, and researched new computers for S, whose ancient Dell is driving him up the wall. Hopefully a new one will reduce stress levels.

And now, it's pizza night! I am pleased to report that their new menu includes pizza with pineapple (yes, really!). 

Edit, to record: Alice Munro, that peerless genius of the short story, has died at 92. https://www.theguardian.com/books/article/2024/may/14/alice-munro-nobel-winner-and-titan-of-the-short-story-dies-aged-92

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.