Marionb

By Marionb

A Special Visitor...

...was flitting about in my back yard today...from tree to feeder to tree..a flash of red in the tree..then a flash of white as he swooped by..I tried to photograph him earlier in the day - to no avail - but was more successful late this afternoon. What a beauty! A bird I had never seen in my neighbourhood before. 

I couldn't wait to share the photo with my daughter and SIL - both avid birders, and will take their advice..."Lucky you! Enjoy! He won't around long!". Drat! ..I didn't realize he would only be passing through...so I am even more chuffed now about  seeing him, by just happening to be in the right place at the right time..and with a camera in hand! 

While I was reading in the rain yesterday, my brother was hiking with a friend up in cottage country and his friend sent me a photo of him (extra) It was the setting in the photo that made me get all nostalgic for summer..for Georgian Bay..the land of rocks, windswept pines and sparkling waters...for my home town where we still spend summers in the same family cottage we grew up in. 

The long weekend is coming up and that is traditional cottage opening time..I do not partake in the ritual, but leave it to the younger generation to open the cottage, put the docks in and get everything ready for a fun-filled summer..Only when the black flies are gone, will I venture north! I anxiously await that day!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.