Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The princess in the woods

Today was a red letter day. I went for my first walk with the Intermediate Walkers since August, and completed a 7 mile circuit in Geltsdale. If I had enquired about the walk, I probably would not have gone. Parts were very easy, walking on the lovely green paths of Geltsdale, but parts were hilly, rough and boggy.

The hare's tail cotton grass looks marvellous and we could see across to the Solway Firth.

I managed, although I was slow at the end. So far there are no ill effects.

I was going to blip George, our leader, with an egg we found, possibly a lapwing egg, but then we came upon this tiny wood. It was such a surprise and a delight. The hawthorn trees are just coming into blossom now.

When I came home, I made a mug of tea and fell asleep in the chair for half an hour. 

It was so good to be out with friends. There was a lot of chat and banter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.