Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Rings Around a Girl

Early start today: out for a chilly run at 1/2 past 5. Breakfast, wife to the gym, me to a massage (OWWWWWWWWWW but helpful), lunch, then got out with the kids to a nearby playground, where I took this (large).

I also took a shot at mrs tsuken, and caught this gorgeous smile and head tilt. Unfortunately the sunlight was very harsh, and half her face is overexposed. I did a few other filters/processing attempts - also visible in my Flickr - which I think work to varying degrees.

Browsing blipfoto, btc precipitated some techno shock, with that (linked) amazing long exposure of the Millennium Bridge in London. My wife asked what bridge it was, so I tapped "show on map". I got a map, I pinched out with my fingers, zoomed in to the point I could see a label: "Millennium Bridge". Looked a little further and saw the label for St Paul's. Guessed that was the dome I had been admiring, went into Google Earth, looked around, and confirmed that it was.

...went OMFG what have I just done? O_O

It's utterly astounding what can be done with a device I can hold in my hands: see a photo taken only in the last 24 hours, on the other side of the world, find it on a map, that I can examine in whatever detail I want, and hey, in Google Earth it has a little icon that goes straight to an encyclopaedia entry about almost anything I'm looking at.

Utterly. Incredible.

Finishing off the day with pizza (one pepperoni; one parmesan and garlic; one smoked pancetta, mushroom, and chilli) and Dr Who: a Weeping Angels story from series 5, so mrs tsuken will like it. ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.