TrishaR

By TrishaR

Kranska Gora, Lake Zelenci, Lake Bled

What a day this was! Most steps walked and most beauty seen. Slovenia has it in spades!

We started off with a drive to Kranjska Gora, which sits below jagged alpine peaks. It’s the premier winter playground in mid March as it hosts many premier ski events . But now it’s great spot for the hiking as it’s in the Triglav National Park.

It’s a very pretty town. We stopped for our morning coffee sitting out in the sun. We decided to park up the car and walk to see the massive ski jumps and was amazed at how many and the difference in height . These guys that jump off there are manic! It was a lovely sunny and warm day the temps just perfect for walking.

After walking back down from here we did another walk through woods to the stunning Lake Zelenci. I’ve never seen such clear turquoise water in a Lake. It even had little underground volcanoes and fish. And with the backdrop of the mountains and us being the only ones there it was a magical moment. Peaceful sitting amongst such beauty.

Walked back through the woods to the car and drove a couple of minutes to a restaurant we had passed earlier. It served traditional Slovenian food I had their Beef soup and S had the mixed grill which I picked at. We had yet another Apple Strudel and cos we’ve had so many were able to mark them out of ten and this one was the best we’d had. Back to the car and a stop further on for me to go and watch two palomino foals running! They looked very young, all long legs and exuberance. I think I spent 10 mins just standing watch them it was a lovely moment for me. We had a photo opportunity on a bridge with the mountain peaks behind cos you can’t get enough pics with jagged peaks!

S wanted to go paddleboarding on Lake Bled so we headed back to the chalet and I had a cuppa on our Terrace while he got his stuff together and we decided to walk over the hiking trail from our chalet as the club was at our side of the Lake.

It was a 40 min walk and near the end skirted Alongside a massive caravan, motorhome and tent park and when we got there they were shutting early! Dam!

I said I am not walking back (small strop). So S said he would walk back and get the car and pick me up at the main road which I would walk alongside the Lake to. Well, it too me 40mins to walk there same distance as to our chalet but when he got there he found out I had the key! And just as the message came in to me the bus that was sitting that I could have got just drove off.

Luckily Herman and Imsely were at home and he let him in. S came and got me, and we got back. That day we clocked up over 26k steps no wi see we were absolutely exhausted and fell into the bed , pillow and duvet of dreams and konked out. Although I woke up at 2pm convinced there was a bear in the roof then it was bats behind the wardrobe. There was noises!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.