LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

Blooming Summer

The sun shone eventually this morning,  burning off the haar that made it feel cold as I walked over the Meadows to the leafy Grange and my Book Group meeting. Six of us arrived to discuss Still Life by Sarah Winman but it seemed a good idea to have the cake and coffee first and oh my goodness it was a delicious gluten free cake with a  lemon and yoghurt filling. The book didn’t go down so well- too long and too many characters popping in and out. I think one person liked  it but the others not so much.

These meetings have evolved over the 40 years since we first met . We used to get together in the evenings when children were in bed and we discussed the book for a long time before the entry of the cake and tea ( no coffee , it kept us awake). There was very little gossip afterwards as time was off the essence, whereas now we are all retired  we can meet in the morning or afternoon depending on grandmotherly duties and holidays to gossip for as long as it takes. More importantly, the cake makes its entrance at the beginning.
My blip is a selection of flowers I met on my walk. They look very happy to see the sun.
 My sociability knew no bounds today as in the afternoon, a class mate and I got together in the sun for 2 hours of leisurely chat. I hope I haven’t overdone it with the day’s excitement level or I may never get to sleep tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.