Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Linlithgow

Like FP, we took visited Linlithgow today. We had the older girls with us as they had a day off school.
We walked around a quarter of the way round, I say walked, the two younger members of our group had their scooters .
Good to see the shiny freshly refurbished crown on St Michael's.
The coot's nest is about 3 feet away from the shore at the busiest part and she wasn't the slightest bit bothered.
I wasn't sure what the flower was, at first I thought it was a ' past it' bluebell, but Google tells me it could be this -

Wednesday Weed – Fringecups Tellima Grandiflora a form of saxifrage
Whether this or indeed something else entirely, it was a new one for me and rather pretty.
The Damsel flies were busy making more damsel flies so we didn't spend too long with them beautiful though the males are! Several swans were finding the bottom of the loch very interesting.
The twitchers were out watching a pair of great crested grebes with great excitement and we also spotted the cormorants and a little grebe, also known as a dabchick - it was too quick for me to capture although I did get one shot of its feet as it disappeared under the water!
It was a lovely warm day which of course we finished off with an ice cream.
Apologies for the lack of flower links above, I can't do good links on my phone but here they are if you want to have a look. I'll have a go at replacing them on the laptop tomorrow!

https://bugwomanlondon.com/2015/05/20/wednesday-weed-fringecups/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.