Hazy lazy summer day

The air was so humid and hazy this morning that you can barely make out the horizon line in this picture. This particular view of Lake Erie is one I have blipped before (on another hazy day). In the year 1850, it was the site of one of the worst maritime disasters on the Great Lakes. You can read about it in my blip from last September.

If you saw my blip from last Saturday, you may have noticed a connection between this blip and that one. Both journal entries are related to the Erie Canal and the story of how water transportation helped to develop the Midwest in the mid-19th century. I am very sure I wouldn't have wanted to travel the canals or Lake Erie back in those days. As I stood on this bluff overlooking the lake, the view could only be described as peaceful. It is hard to imagine that nearly 300 people were once buried in a common grave on the beach below.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.