Woman of Words; by Virginia King 2013

An early run this morning in the wet, wind and cold of a Wellington winter's morning. I chose to avoid the waterfront (the usual place I run in the mornings when I'm in Wellington) and instead ran around central city streets.

I had seen this sculpture on a previous trip to Wellington this year. It is not where I normally go (walking or running) so it may have been there longer, but it seems not. Hence my giving it the date of 2013.

The sculpture is of stainless steel; it is three metres high, and shows Katherine Mansfield (described as "New Zealand's most internationally recognised literary figure") walking along Lambton Quay in central Wellington. The surface of the sculpture is laser cut with words and phrases from her writing. What was chosen presents information about Mansfield, the writer, the woman, and her New Zealand childhood.

At night the statue is lit by amber lights placed below the base of the sculpture, and these create the effect of an illuminated lantern of silhouetted words. I will put a close up of part of the sculpture into the blipfolio for those who are interested.

I actually took three photos; two from the front (one was more silvery) and this one. I had an idea as to which I preferred; however, S told me to ask Young L for his advice. He looked at all three and chose this one. He was very definite. I asked him why. In full five year seriousness he said that it was the best because "It's on the side. It's more better. It's more active."

As those were my very reasons for preferring this one I felt confident in my choice and here it is. Like him, the second reason is probably the strongest reason I had for choosing it. It IS a "more better" photo.

Meeting today was one of the most difficult I've been through, and I'm glad to back home to the quiet chaos of family life and work tomorrow.

ADDITION;
It has been drawn to my attention that two Wellingtonians have also blipped this sculpture; on Monday and yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.