Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Beauty and grace and a magical moment

Hermann's Royal Lipizzan Stallions are on tour on the East Coast this summer and one of their stops is Lusscroft Farm, about 25 miles or so from me. They arrived at the farm yesterday in advance of the shows they will be doing this weekend. I've heard about these incredible war horses since I was a little girl and I wasn't about to miss a chance to see them in person!

So, hubs and I jumped in the car and headed up to the farm. When we arrived, we were the only ones there other than the stallions and their trainers. What a fantastic thing to see one of the majestic creatures galloping around a meadow, mane and tail flying, hooves barely touching the ground. It gave me chills of the best kind.

So I took several hundred pictures before we left the horses and trainers to their work. For me, it was a huge thrill to see these stallions - they surpassed all expectations! I posted about 20 shots in a Flickr set, HERE including a rare shot with me in it that hubs took. I'm the one with the messy hair.

For those interested, a little background... The Herrman Lipizzans date back 300 years to horses that were gifted to an ancestor by Ferdinand II for use in battle. The breed comes from one of the most esteemed of the war horse breeds and were used in the 16th century by Austrian forces.

Had I not had the wonderful experience of seeing these magnificent horses, my blip today would have been Mr. P-Hummie, conducting the orchestra. However, P had to take a back seat today...

Thanks for your warm reception to yesterday's Assassin Bug kid. I did confirm that the second "bug" was actually the "exuvia" (shed skin) of Orange Dude and he morphed from one instar form to the next. So, it was pretty cool that I saw it! The things Blip does for us...

One more day until my BIL and SIL arrive -- YAY!

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.