BJH

By BJH

More grebelets on the way?

Today started as yet another hot day but thankfully by the time I arrived at the sanctuary it had become overcast and the wind had picked up enough to make the temperature more bearable for my walk with Brutus. Unfortunately that also meant that it was very difficult to photograph anything at the park and so I gave up trying quite quickly.

On the way home I did some shopping and also stopped at the artificial island where one of the Great Crested Grebes is sitting on their nest again. Unfortunately, just like yesterday, it didn't get up so I still don't know if there are any eggs yet and if so, how many. The nest has become more difficult to spot now that all the plants at the island have grown so much since the last clutch of eggs hatched but hopefully I'll have more luck one of the next few days to see if there's anything in the nest yet.

We already went out for a birthday lunch with my brother on Saturday so today was a fairly quiet day on which I only opened the presents that I'd received in the post from a couple of friends. My mother and I did share a lovely bottle of rosé to celebrate this evening though.

Many thanks for the lovely comments and stars on my synchronised flying bees blip from yesterday. They are very much appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.