Trying to keep my balance - SP

First day in Dufftown.

After a very long journey consisting in two trains and a bus, I finally arrived in Dufftown, a bit disappointed because it was cloudy, but happy to be away from everything and have a chance to relax.

It didn't take me long to find my B&B because Dufftown is a really small town with a few houses, not many people, some cows and sheep and a fair amount of distilleries. The lady in the B&B was really nice and let me choose a room. I chose the single one in the end because it had a nicer view from the window.

Then I grabbed my camera, tripod, bag and headed outdoors for a wee wander. I walked a lot! I took many photos and eventually the sun came up which made me really happy, however, I was stupid enough to cross a fence that was locked (it must have been locked for a reason..). What happened was that I went through a muddy patch, but I misjudged the depth of it, so I ended up ankle deep in mud! The mud went all over my shoes, inside my shoes and soaked the bottom of my jeans as well. In an attempt to get away from the mud as fast as I could, I then ended up with mud all over my jeans!! That was a bit of a disaster because, as I was traveling light, those were the only jeans and shoes I was carrying with me. So I decided to go to the river Fiddich, which was the closest, to wash myself. I just jumped in the water with shoes and all, so my feet were all soaked! Hahaha!

So, anyway, I went back to the hostel squelching all the way, and took my jeans and shoes off to dry. I was gutted because the weather started looking good for a sunset and my stuff was soaked, so I finally went out in my leggings and my wet shoes to go and take the photo of the sunset! What a carry on! :)

All in all, in spite of the difficulties encountered, I had a good time and the weather was good. I went to bed early because I wanted to get up early in the hope of a nice sunrise! I had to leave my jeans and shoes out of the window to dry!

Sorry I haven't been commenting, but I'll try and catch up with you as soon as I can! Thanks very much for all your comments! I hope you all had a good day! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.