New Season's Jam

All the other Flums being otherwise occupied, I had the day to myself so, with the fine weather being ideal for jam-making I hied me hence to pick Strawberries.

That's where the plan went wrong. The usual pick-your-own farm apparently closed; all I could see was grass, a café and a children's nursery. There followed a few miles of driving to various Strawberry outlets and, indeed, I found some, in the supermarket. But not the pectin I wanted for setting the jam, so further miles were driven to get that. By lunchtime I had all I required and, with complicated mathematical calculation, made them up in two batches.

Besides these eleven jars of jam (a couple aren't quite full, but there's a dish of scrapings) I made a batch of Strawberry ice cream then Miss Flum and I had the rest for tea.

I'm about Strawberried out now, shall probably dream of the things, too.

Didn't realise, but yesterday was my 900th entry, and I still have backblips to do - doesn't time fly!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.