Grandmama

By Grandmama

End of an Era

I had an invitation to attend the closure of this school today. This was the 'Special' school from which I retired 9 years ago. I went feeling rather sad and didn't intend to stay long, but the welcome I received from former pupils was well worth the journey. Several members of my old Year 7 Class, who are now in their twenties, were there, and although I couldn't remember all their names I certainly recognised their faces. They've grown into self-assured young men and women of whom I'm very proud. Lots of stories were bandied around, some have jobs, some have not and one young lady has 6 children even though she's only in her early twenties!! (Includes one set of twins!)
We were entertained by the present pupils who danced, sang and the school rock band were great, led by the Music Teacher, and featuring a fantastically talented drummer named Ben Fullerton, who is, I'm sure, destined for a star future, especially as he's deaf.
After we'd all said our 'good byes' we headed for the pub across the road - an old haunt of the Staff and were surprised to see all the old pupils in there as well! It seemed really funny to be drinking with them but a fitting end to a wonderful afternoon. I wish them all the best of luck in the future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.