Down by the Wharf

A beautiful warm sunny day reaching 18C, certainly much warmer up here in Whakatane than in the South Island.

My day started with a tramp up Makaroa Gorge with my cousin. The track is used as a fitness course combining some uphill and downhill steps winding its way through native bush, where fantails flit along the path with their little 'cheet, cheet' and the song of bellbirds and tuis could be heard. Some people run it while others walk it, I managed a light jog for a wee while :)

Later in the day I thoroughly enjoyed some time with my aunt shopping. I came away with a lovely cerise merino which is so warm and snuggly under my possum jacket. We had lunch out at one of the many cafes, such a lovely time was spent together.

Towards the end of the day I walked along the stopbank which has now become an award winning walkway, suitable for mobility scooters, cyclists, joggers, dog walkers and whoever else wishes to use it.  It starts at the Whakatane Bridge,  ending at the Whakatane Heads. At each entrance to the walkway there are Totem Poles created by Ngati Awa carvers Lawerence Hohua and Danny McRoberts symbolising water and life, also a paved Koru sign.

The walkway passes the rose gardens, a dog park, a miniature railway, amphitheatre, Wairaka Marae, Whakatane Wharf, with views of Moutohora Island and Whakaari/White Island. It got quite hot walking as there was no sea breeze today.

A great way to end one of my last days in my home town.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.